Heading home (sort of) for Christmas 2

There is no PRET  in T2, I wondered around to be sure remembering that there was one, there isn’t.  Given the early stages of its rebirth and more than cosmetic overhaul there never was.. Where there might have been one there is an EAT – I do not care for EAT..  No particular reason other than it’s prices are like those of a pret, it occupies potential pret spaces .. Places such as this one in T2 and ain’t no PRET & while is not the same nor is it different..

Big queues and for mine the front is fast giving up and leaving, the serving person having abandoned their cashier post to take up residence at the coffee making station and not come back.

I observe making a b- line for the back where there appear to be some unadvertised self checkouts .. And opt to follow.. The thing is people have clearly been here before been here before giving up and leaving with each of the machines displaying the unpaid for items of previous attempted transactions …. There is no way to clear it down – no back, no delete, no action from the cancel button on the card machine nothing .. I can buy £7.58 of whatever’s on here or leave.. Food less and hungry .. That’s the choice

The other chap, the one who heading here pointed it out, if he pays for his .. Then his self checkout, the third and final choice, will be cleared down, so I burn some time with fruitless machine ferreting waiting for him go leave while hoping it all works for him in a way that seems scarcely probable.

it works – he leaves and bequeath me the one working checkout and with it I manage to secure for myself this sandwich .. It is mine & paid for to – legally & possession wise mine.

I’m not sure whose more deserving of being clobbered meticulously with this slightly under baked baguette until all flight full fillings flew free .. The developer who built it or their boss who allowed it to escape into the wild.  I’m pretty certain I’ve encountered very similar devices in other stores, frustrating machines no doubt but ones that have had a few generations to teach us about their inheranrtly irksome bagging area ways .. So well established are these as to make guest appearances in any number of comedians comedy skits … No originality was called for here, so to find new ways to be frustratingly shit that took some witless ness.  I think the boss, that is where the baguette should be wielded.

The plane is late arriving but I’m kept to busy on my phone – writing my response to the unspoken conversation that was intended for today – how do we save money next year.. I’ve given my answer verbally in passing but now I’ve worked out the detail – it’s an email that, despite the departure gate and flight time hours that went into, has as yet remained unsent .. Drafts …

Leave a Reply

